Kia hiwa ra, kia hiwa ra!
Trustee Nominations
Nominations for the 2014 election of Trustees to the Ngāi Te Rangi Board closed at 5pm Friday 24 October 2014. One representative is required for each of the eleven Hapū Communities. Since listing the original schedule, two candidates for Ngati Tauaiti and Ngai Tukairangi and Ngati Kuku Hapū Communities have withdrawn from the election. The following is a listing of the confirmed nominations as at Tuesday 4 November 2014:

Te Whānau a Tauwhao, Otawhiwhi
No nominations were received for this Hapū Community.
Ngāi Tamawhariua, Te Rereatukahia
BLUEGUM Eddie Tiepa
COOK Patricia
Ngāi Tamawhariua, Te Rangihouhiri
NUKU Pehitahi
Ngāti Tauaiti
BROUGHTON Margaret Te Urutarewa

 Ngāi Tuwhiwhia, Opureora
Te Whānau a Tauwhao, Rangiwaea
TAINGAHUE Ngaraima Lee
Te Ngare
Ngāi Tukairangi & Ngāti Kuku, Whareroa
Ngāi Tukairangi, Hungahungatoroa
Ngāti Tapu, Waikari
IHAKA Puhirake
Ngāti He, Maungatapu
BLACK Awanui
MCLEOD Whitiora
As no nominations were received for the Te Whānau a Tauwhao, Otawhiwhi Hapū Community, a further call for nominations will be made by the Board at a later date.
As only the required number of nominations were received for Ngati Tauaiti, Ngāi Tuwhiwhia, Opureora, Te Whānau a Tauwhao, Rangiwaea and Ngāti Tapu, Waikari Hapū Communities, Margaret Te Urutarewa BROUGHTONCharlie TAWHIAO, Ngaraima Lee TAINGAHUE and Puhirake IHAKA are declared elected Trustees for the Ngāi Te Rangi Board to represent their respective Hapū Communities.
Elections are required for the remaining Hapū Communities. The elections will be conducted by postal and internet voting. Voter packs, together with information about the candidates, will be sent to registered and verified adult members of the Hapū Communities requiring elections on Tuesday 4 November 2014. Candidate names will be in alphabetical order on the voting documents. Voting closes at 12 noon, Tuesday 2 December 2014. Any queries are to be directed to the Returning Officer on the election helpline 0508 666 101.
Registration to Vote
In order to vote for a particular Candidate, members must be registered in the same Hapū Community First Preference as the Candidate they wish to vote for. You can check your Hapu Community First Preference by clicking the Register link at the top of this page then go to the  'Registration List' tab and enter your surname and date of birth. A detailed Candidate Handbook explaining the election process is also available here.
If you, or anyone you know who is an adult descendant of Ngāi Te Rangi, have not yet registered or confirmed a First Preference Hapū Community on the Tribal Register, please note that registratoins can be done via the Online Register or by contacting the Rūnanga office on 07 575 3765 or emailing This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. Please make contact with us if you have not received a voting pack in the mail by Friday 7 November 2014.
Nga mihi,
Charlie Tāwhiao
Te Runanga o Ngai Te Rangi Iwi Trust & Ngai Te Rangi Settlement Trust
A copy of this information is available at the Rūnanga Office, on Taiaho Place, Mount Maunganui.
Text Size

Contact Us

Located at
Te Awa O Tukorako Lane
(off Taiaho Place)
Mt Maunganui 3116
Postal Address
PO Box 4369
Mount Maunganui Sth 3149
07 575 3765
07 575 3721
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Check out the August 2014 edition of Tera te Marama!